Union County College Starts Chillin 4 Charity Throughout Region XIX

Union County College Starts Chillin 4 Charity Throughout Region XIX

Chillin 4 Charity is an ongoing cold water challenge that started at the University of Arizona on June 7, 2014 by their Head Women's Basketball Coach, Niya Butts. Coach Butts challenged other Pac-12 coaches and players to take the cold water challenge by being soaked in freezing ice water.  The challenge is to support the Kay Yow Foundation.

Union County College was challenged by a NCAA school that we as a NJCAA institution could not get a Chillin 4 Charity challenge started throughout NJCAA.

Challenge Accepted!

Within 48 hours Union County College held a very successful Chillin 4 Charity event that even President McMenamin took part in.  Tammy Smith, Dean of College Life, Cheryl Bell, head women's coach, Marbely Montas, asst. women's coach, Matt Collins, head men's coach, and Dave McDaniel, asst. men's coach joined President McMenamin in the challenge.

Union County College challenged 14 other Presidents, Athletic Directors, and coaches throughout NJCAA Region XIX to take the challenge and to pass it on to other schools.


Rules to Chillin 4 Charity

  • You have 48 hours to answer our challenge
  • For each person that answers the challenge, Union County College will owe the Kay Yow Foundation $25
  • If you don't take the challenge you owe the Kay Yow Foundation $125!
  • Use the hashtags: #Chillin4Charity and #Play4Kay


Union County College Challenged:

Michel Powell – Middlesex County College Head Women's Basketball Coach

Tracey Napoleon – Middlesex County College Assistant Women's Basketball Coach

Carolyn Jones – Burlington County College Head Women's Basketball Coach

Amanda DeMartino – Raritan Valley Community College Athletic Director

Jocelyn Beck – Lehigh Carbon Community College Athletic Director

Shawn Noel – Brookdale Community College Athletic Director

Troy Tucker – Northampton Community College Athletic Director

Robert Reeves – Manor College Athletic Director and Head Women's Basketball Coach

David DeFerrari – Felician College Head Men's Basketball Coach

Ivan Lewis - Felician College Assistant Men's Basketball Coach

Lou Abbattista – Camden County College Head Men's Basketball Coach

Dr. Karen A. Stout – Montgomery County Community College President

Dr. Ann Bieber – Lehigh Carbon Community College President

Dr. Anne M Kress – Monroe Community College President